Summer Concert

Date: Saturday 11 June 2005, 8:00 pm
Venue: Christ Church Cathedral
Conductor: Fergus O'Carroll
Leader: Aveen O'Reilly

Composer Piece Soloist
Offenbach Orpheus in the Underworld  
Mozart Concerto for Clarinet in A Major Ciprian Costea, Macdara ├ôSeira├│ain & Andrew Gillespie  
Sir Arthur Sullivan Overture HMS Pinafore  
Khachaturian Adagio from the Ballet Spartacus  
Tchaikovsky Music from the Ballet The Nutcracker (selection)  
Ravel Pavane Pour Une Infante Defunte  
Bizet Carmen Suite No. 2 (selection)  
Herold Overture Zampa  

The Dublin Symphony Orchestra contains many talented musicians and when possible it is our policy to give these members a platform to perform concertos and orchestral solos. In our June concert we are delighted to have a member of our clarinet section Ciprian Costea who will be performing part of the much-loved concerto by Mozart. How many people remember the BBC maritime series of the 1970?s, The Onedian Line with its haunting theme tune? This music was the Adagio from Aram Khachaturian?s ballet Spartacus, this composition is another work that the Orchestra will be performing in June.