An Evening with Tchaikovsky

Date: Saturday 26 November 2005, 8:00 pm
Venue: Incorporated Law Society, Blackhall Place
Conductor: Fergus O'Carroll & Guest Conductor Gavin Maloney
Leader: Aveen O'Reilly

Composer Piece Soloist
Brahms Tragic Overture  
Tchaikovsky Violin concerto in D Lynda O'Connor  
Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 5 in E minor  

Although the DSO has performed Tchaikovsky's Fifth Symphony on a number of occasions, a performance of note took place on. June 22nd 1979. At that concert we were joined by a very young French Horn player called Fergus O'Carroll from Waterford who played the horn solo in the second movement beautifully. We are delighted to have his son Eneko who will do the honours in a similar fashion at this concert some 26 years later.